Deepening IPR Protection Reforms in China’s Comprehensive Innovation Pilot Zones

On January 18, the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC), the Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST), the Ministry of Public Security (MPS), and the State Intellectual Property Office (SIPO) issued a notice on deepening IPR protection reforms in China’s eight comprehensive innovation reform pilot zones.
The notice, which was addressed to the respective municipal and provincial governments of the reform pilot zones, is drafted in accordance with President Xi Jinping’s remarks on improving IPR protection made during the 16th meeting of the Central Leading Group on Financial and Economic Affairs and with the aim of deepening reforms of China’s IPR protection system.
Seven main goals are listed below: 

  1. Replicate and promote results of IPR protection reforms
  2. Explore integrated management IPR reforms
  3. Explore new mechanisms for IP protection
  4. Explore establishing a new mechanism to link administrative law enforcement and criminal justice in IP
  5. Continue to implement State Council IPR protection reform measures
  6. Newly added reforms should be adopted into the key work tasks of reform pilot zones
  7. Research, formulate, and flesh out implementation plans

On September 7, 2017 the General Office of the State Council issued a notice on Promoting and Supporting Innovation-related Reforms naming eight areas in China as comprehensive innovation reform pilot zones. These include the Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei region, Shanghai, Guangdong Province, Anhui Province, Sichuan Province, Wuhan, Xi’an, and Shenyang.